Honeymoon – Shipwreck Beach

The morning we were to fly back to Kauai we got up had some breakfast and started on our way to return the Jeep, everything went fairly smoothly and we arrived back in Kauai and picked up another little Aveo.

Finding our next hotel was challenging and it took us a few tries. Then when we finally checked in there was no ramps or elevators so we hauled our luggage up 3 stories of stairs :o The room wasn’t as nice as our first Kauai hotel and in future I will go back to that one over this latest hotel without any hesitation. Now I know. We were hungry so we decided to try and find Puka Dogs. We did and I am sooooo happy. I love Puka and Hula Dogs. I really think I should open a store in BC but it would probably only flourish in White Rock or Kits and I really have no desire to move. I also was able to go to Sand People and get a globe I had spotted in O’ahu. I had baulked at the price but the more I thought about it the more I wanted it. I really didn’t buy much souvenirs on our trip and this would be the one thing I could keep out and see often to remember our trip by. So when I saw the store by Puka Dogs I made my mind up and bought one.IMG_6273 IMG_6272 IMG_6274

After our hot dog we looked at the map and noticed a Shipwreck Beach, there wasn’t any info on it just a rough location idea. Chris decided to try and find it. We have been to a few Shipwreck Beaches (Oregon, and Tofino) so we had to add it to the list. It took a while of driving around the golf course and residential area but we found it and it was worth it. The waves were so loud. Like thunder. It was neat and the rocks around the beach were pretty cool. We decided to climb on top of the rocks and it was definitely worth it. Of our trip these photos and this beach are my favorite. Once we were done admiring the views we started making our way back to the beach and I stubbed my toe. The lava rock cut it open pretty good and I pushed the flap of meat back in than avoided looking at it. I hobbled back to the car somehow avoiding getting sand in it and promptly stubbed it on the asphalt. I was pretty composed when the first injury occurred that time I swore. It hurt, it bled, it sucked. We drove to the Walmart in Lehue and got some band-aids and breakfast supplies. Once back at the hotel I cleaned off my toe the best I could and put a band-aid on it. What I can’t see won’t creep me out.IMG_6275 IMG_6276 IMG_6280 IMG_6301 IMG_6316 IMG_6332 IMG_6337 IMG_6341 IMG_6342 IMG_6364 IMG_6396 IMG_6399 IMG_6405IMG_6324

I have to say that Shipwreck Beach was my favorite beach for photos and views. It was so pretty. While I was taking photos Chris kept trying to find paths down the clifts. At one point while I was turned around taking photos of the beach he positioned himself to jump down but I told him not to. Eventually he found a safe path and he went down to the sand and wrote our names in the sand then surrounded it in a heart. <3 While I wrote Aloha into the sand.IMG_6409 IMG_6413 IMG_6416 IMG_6426 IMG_6430 IMG_6437 IMG_6439 IMG_6440 IMG_6441

When we got back to the hotel we started some laundry and went to the Whalers General store and bought some ice cream, that was the nice thing about this new hotel. The general store was across the parking lot so we were able to go out and get a nightly ice cream and pick up anything we may have forgotten. We also started taking notes on alcohol prices, sizes and variety.  Got to figure out what we’re going to take home with us.

Leave a Reply

