My hopes for this weekend

This weather sucks. I live in a rain forest I get that but it was so nice a few weeks ago and I really wanted to go shooting but we were to busy. Now we are free and it’s pouring down rain and has been for days. I want to go out into the mountains take photo’s and shoot a few things. Maybe take photos of things being shot. Nothing is more relaxing then jumping into the truck with Chris, grabbing a warm drink, the guns and our camera and heading into the mountains. Target shooting is a stress relief, yet you have to concentrate in order to do it well. Look, breath, pull the trigger. I use my camera in the same way. For me it’s not a release of anger or aggression. We respect guns and what they can do. They remind us to calm down, think, do things safely. I get to concentrate on something and take my mind of whatever happened in the past weeks. I had a co-worker from England come and work with us last year he was horribly surprised that I had and used guns. I always knew I would get my PAL one day. My Dad and Grandpa had guns and while they never took me shooting and I never even saw them around the house, I knew they existed. They were a part of the stories we were told growing up, and a part of my family history. I was never really comfortable around them until I met Chris, but I always felt they were our heirlooms, our fine china. Since I was little and especially after Grandpa died I knew they were important to me and that I wanted them to stay in the family. It’s the logger side of me I guess. It’s also something Chris and I have always enjoyed doing together. He paid for me to get my PAL. Then when we got married Dad gave him his double barrel. Our first family heirloom.

Quote:
Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition.
– Dixie Chicks

Leave a Reply

